APPROVAL AND LICENSING
The Natural Healing Institute is a diploma/certificate of completion-granting adult vocational college and institution fully licensed to operate in compliance with the California State Education Code under the authority and regulation of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education and the Department of Consumer Affairs, School Certification # 3710431.
Our Programs are approved by the California State Board of Registered Nurses for Continuing Education Credit Hours (CEU’s) and by the Board of Behavioral Sciences for Continuing Education Credit Hours (CEU’s) for MFT’s & LCSW’s.Rehabilitation agencies reimburse for our Programs. All of our individual classes and workshops will earn you credits toward diplomas/certificates of completion and/or license in the following programs: Clinical Nutritionist, Clinical Herbalist, Massage Technician, Massage Therapist, Spa & Massage Therapist, Exercise & Sports Therapist, Holistic Health Practitioner (HHP), Naturopathic Practitioner (NP), Thai Massage, Lomi-Lomi/Hawaiian Healing Arts, and Aromatherapy. Licensing ordinances vary from city to city. You are encouraged to check local requirements to verify the number of training hours required in your area(s) of study.
DISCLAIMERS REGARDING ALL PROGRAMS
Licenses in Massage and Holistic Health Practitioner (HHP) are issued by cities; Diplomas and Certificates for all of our Programs are issued by NHI. Graduation from any of our Programs does not qualify you as a licensed medical doctor. You cannot diagnose, prescribe, treat symptoms, defect, injury, or disease pursuant to California Business and Professional Code 2052. You can do health counseling or therapies as a health practitioner or therapist. Our use of the word “clinical” refers to working in a clinical environment and does not imply being a licensed doctor or practicing medicine. Please call us should you have questions.
Applicants to NHI are considered on the basis of individual merit without regard to handicap, gender, sexual orientation, age, religion, creed, race, or national or ethnic origin. This policy applies to admissions, employment, financial agreements, and all other matters with in the school.
Class size is limited to ensure individual attention. Registration is required.
NHI welcomes transfer students. Any student currently enrolled elsewhere may join us and receive a tuition rebate from your former school following State guidelines. This is a State regulation. We will accept transfer credits from any state-licensed school or college at $1.00 per credit hour as long as the training is comparable. This fee must be paid within 60 days of enrolling at NHI.
NHI cannot grant credit for workshops, life experiences and other excellent endeavors unless conducted through a state or federally licensed college or school. For more information on transfers please contact NHI Admissions.
The NHI staff recognize that financing a quality education is a major investment. Easy payment plan have been designed for your added convenience. Visa, MasterCard, and Discover are accepted. Some types of financial aid maybe available, as well. NHI encourages graduates to commence their new careers debt- free. We also offer individualized career counseling. Although we do not accept Title 4 Money (i.e., FASFA), we DO accept funding from WIA (the Workforce Investment Act through the Employment Development Department) for people currently out of work, with low income, or those seeking a career change. We have been approved for and accept MyCAA (assistance to spouses of military personnel). We accept Vocational Rehabilitation. We also accept corporate, private and other grant money.
Classroom dress is casual yet appropriate. Massage students will be draped at all times.
You must be at least 18 years of age to graduate a program and have either a high school education or GED equivalent.
Call our office to request an application. You may enroll on any weekday in person during our usual office hours or by email/mail/fax. Office hours are 9:30 am to 6:30 pm Mon-Thurs, 9:30 am to 4:00 pm Friday. We ask that you enroll for all classes and programs, if possible, 30 days in advance of the first class date. This is to insure that you will have a space in the class and that we will have enough books or handouts or any other materials available. If you register less than 7 working days before the start of a class, we cannot guarantee that we will have enough books, handouts, or any other materials by the first day of class. Space may be held in classes with a non-refundable deposit of $45.00. All class tuition amounts include a $45.00 non-refundable enrollment fee.
NOTE: You should arrange payment for courses during business hours at least five business days before the first class meeting.
First time NHI students in any of our full programs pay a one time, non-refundable $100 registration fee. Students who wish just to take one or two individual classes pay a $10-$40 non-refundable registration fee/class, depending on the length of the class. Students who choose to repeat a class as an audit may do so, with an 75% discount offered. No credit hours are given for an audit.
STRF ($0.50 per $1000.00)
The State of California Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) is a required fee for students in the State of California. You must pay the state-imposed fee for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all of the following applies to you: 1) You are a student, who is a California resident and prepays all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal loans, and 2) Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party. You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF fee if either of the following applies: 1) You are not a California resident. 2) Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party.
You may pay in full 7 days (or more) in advance of the class and receive a 5% discount. You may pay in full prior to the start date of any diploma program and receive a 5% discount (NOTE-this does not include Massage Technician or Aromatherapy). Classes must be paid in full prior to the first class; or, you may pay over time with the addition of a non-refundable administrative fee of 10% of the total class fee. Note: cost of books, optional handouts and other supplies are additional.
CANCELLATION AND REFUND
Refunds for the programs or classes are calculated from the last class meeting, on a pro-rata basis. In other words, if you have paid in full for a class series or program and withdraw after 25% of the class has been presented, you will receive a 75% rebate of your tuition less your non-refundable enrollment fee and a withdrawal fee. If you withdraw after 40% of the series has been presented, you will receive a 60% tuition rebate less your non-refundable enrollment fee and a withdrawal fee. If you withdraw from a class prior to the first day of instruction, you are entitled to a full refund of tuition less the non-refundable enrollment fee and a withdrawal fee.
The withdrawal fee schedule is as follows:
Class fees totaling $299 & under: $45 non-refundable fee
Class fees totaling $300 – $999: $65 non-refundable fee
Class fees totaling $1,000 & over: $100 Refunds are only available if less than 40% of a class has been presented.
All withdrawals must be in writing.
You may drop off, fax, e-mail or certify mail your withdrawal to:
Natural Healing Institute of Naturopathy, Inc.
Director of Admissions
515 Encinitas Blvd. #201
Encinitas, CA 92024-3744
ADMINISTRATIVE RECORD KEEPING POLICY
Student records are retained for at least ten years after a student completes or at least six years after withdrawal from a program.
ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE
NHI does not provide English as a second language in any of its instruction.
NOTICE OF STUDENT RIGHTS
(1) You may cancel your contract for school. The Notice of Cancellation form will be available to you. Read the Notice of Cancellation form for an explanation of your cancellation rights and responsibilities. If you have lost your Notice of Cancellation form, ask the school for a sample copy.
(2) Your refund rights are described in the catalog and application for enrollment. If you have lost your copy of the application for enrollment, ask the school for a copy of the refund policy.
(3) If the school closes before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund. Contact the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Vocational Education at the address and telephone number printed below for information.
(4) If you have any complaints, questions or problems which you have not been able to work out with the school, write or call:
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Vocational Education (BPPVE)
P.O. Box 980818
W. Sacramento, CA 95798-0818